Other Awards and Bursaries

Governor General Awards for Excellence in Teaching Canadian History

The Award program recognizes the outstanding contributions of Canada's history teachers, ranging from elementary grades through to secondary schools. The awards recognize Canadian teachers who inspire students to explore Canadian history in an interactive atmosphere. Recipients receive $2,500, a gold medal and a trip to the Award ceremony presided by the Governor General. Their respective schools receive a cash gift of $1,000.

Recipient of the 2013 Governor General's History Award for Excellence in Teaching

Catherine MacDonald
Fr. L.J. Austin Catholic Secondary School
Whitby, Ontario

Next deadline April 1, 2014!
Rules & criteria, and nomination form >>

OTIP/OTF Teaching Award for Excellence
The Ontario Teachers Federation and the Ontario Teachers Insurance Plan Teaching Awards recognize and celebrate teaching excellence with three awards given each year to three outstanding teachers in the categories of elementary, secondary and beginning teacher.

Winning Beginning Teacher 2013
Kerri Lyn Grainger, St. Columban Catholic School

Read her story >>

Nominations open January 5, 2015 and close March 31, 2015
Get award details, criteria and nomination form >>

OTIP post-secondary education bursaries
OTIP promotes post-secondary education for their members and their members’ relatives (e.g. child, step-child, grandchild, aunt, uncle, sister, brother, spouse, etc.) by offering twelve $1,500 academic bursaries every year. To be eligible, students must attending a Canadian college or university on a full-time basis for the upcoming academic year. Enter online https://www.otip.com/main/bursary.aspx , or contact the OTIP Bursary Program coordinator at 1-877-260-3892, ext. 2604 or at bursary@otip.com

OTIP Bursary entries are accepted until June 15 for the upcoming academic year.

Premier's Safe and Accepting School Awards
The Premier's Safe Schools Awards recognizes exceptional and innovative work being done in schools to create a positive, safe and caring school environment.

This annual awards program will recognize up to 10 ‘safe school teams’ that have done exceptional and innovative work in fostering a safe, inclusive and bullying preventive school environment. Every school across Ontario has a safe schools team that is responsible for school safety.  Teams include a student, parent, teacher, non-teaching staff member, community partner and the principal.

Congratulations to the OECTA 2012-13 award recipients

An existing school committee such as the healthy schools committee can add to their responsibilities and assume the role of a safe schools team.

Anyone in the school community can nominate a safe schools team for a Premier's Award, but a safe schools team can also nominate itself.

Nominations for 2013-14 are now closed
For more information and nomination forms, visit www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/safeschools/award.html

Prime Minister's Awards

Nomination for 2014 are now closed

for Teaching Excellence
Nominate a special teacher who played a critical role in your child's life!

2014 Ontario Certificate of Excellence
Maureen Sims
St. Bonaventure Catholic School
Toronto Elementary Unit
Grades 6 & 8, English, Science and Math
Ms. Maureen Sims challenges her students to "think outside the box" every single day in the classroom. She employs special "Challenge" projects to encourage her student to think on their feet and take risks with the material in order to effectively problem solve.

Go to http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/pmate-ppmee.nsf/eng/home
Download the nomination package today: www.pma.gc.ca

for Excellence in Early Childhood Education

Nominate an outstanding educator from your community!

Go to http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/pmaece-ppmepe.nsf/eng/home