We are a teachers’ association that represents 50,000 professional women and men who teach all grades in publicly funded English Catholic schools in Ontario. 

OECTA promotes the professional and contractual welfare of our members, promotes the principles of Catholic education, and defends the constitutional rights of the Catholic school system in Ontario.

OECTA is affiliated with the Congress of Union Retirees of Canada, Ontario Teachers' Federation, the Canadian Teachers' Federation , Education International, the Ontario Federation of Labour (OFL) and the Canadian Labour Congress (CLC).

Mission Statement

Recognizing our uniqueness as teachers in Catholic schools, we are an association committed to the advancement of Catholic education. As teacher advocates we provide professional services, support, protection and leadership.

Statement of Principles
We will:

  • Promote Catholic values

  • Foster the growth of confident, competent professionals

  • Support our members in collective bargaining

  • Promote spiritual growth in our members

  • Establish and exercise our rights at all levels of educational decision-making

  • Build solidarity through actions that foster trust and collegiality

  • Assist our members to grow professionally by providing access to information and resources.

How OECTA is Governed

OECTA’s activities are guided by the members of the Association who are represented by over 500 voting delegates at the annual general meeting (AGM) in March. At the AGM, the delegates elect OECTA officers, pass resolutions and can amend the constitution.

Each month the elected Provincial Executive meets to administer the affairs of OECTA according to the constitution and directives passed at the AGM. The Council of Presidents includes 88 local presidents of local bargaining units. The Council meets three times each year to advise and direct the Provincial Executive as well as to strike the budget.

The Provincial Executive administers the business of the association between annual meetings. It also consults and prepares resolutions to the Ontario Teachers’ Federation (OTF). Composed of the General Secretary and Deputy General Secretary, President, Past President, First, Second and Third Vice-Presidents, Treasurer, two Councillors and the OTF Table Officer, it meets once a month. The President and the OTF Table Officer (as of July 1, 2011) are elected for a two-year term. The other members are elected for one-year terms. Executive members also serve on OECTA provincial committees.

Other elected officers include five OECTA members who sit on the OTF Board of Governors - the governing body of the province’s four teacher organizations.

As OTF Governors, the 10 OECTA representatives - who include five Provincial Executive members - together with representatives from l’Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO), the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO), and the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF) vote on policy matters affecting all teachers. OTF Governors serve a two-year term.