Young Authors Awards/Prix Jeunes Écrivians 2015-2016

This collection is a celebration of the literary talents and accomplishments of the provincial winners of the Ontario English Catholic Teachers’ Association’s 2016 Young Authors Awards / Prix jeunes écrivains.

We applaud all of our winners as well as the thousands of students across the province who participated in the classroom, school and unit levels of the awards program. The insightful, skillful works crafted by these young authors remind us that the great Canadian writers of the future are presently in our classrooms.

The enthusiasm and dedication of every student and supporter ensure that the Young Authors Awards / Prix jeunes écrivains program continues to grow and improve with each year. Together, we honour the outstanding work of our teachers and students.

Fast Facts

  • Over 325 entries from 33 local OECTA Units were submitted to the provincial level of the Young Authors Awards/Prix jeunes écrivains contest this year

  • 53 provincial winners from 17 local OECTA Units this year

  • 24 teachers from different local units served on the Provincial Selection Committee that chose this year’s winners. They met at OECTA provincial office on April 23rd to review allentries and make the final selection of English and French provincial winners.

  • For every student who qualifies for the provincial level of competition, there are thousands ofothers across the province who participate in and benefit from the program. There are four levels of competition: class, school, local unit, and provincial. At each level, a single winner is selected for advancement to the next level for that category.

  • Many schools organize Young Authors award-presentation ceremonies or festivities and display their students’ work, celebrating their success and inspiring other students to write and participate. Some schools and units print their own collections of student work.

  • The publication of the provincial winners’ works is distributed to all Catholic schools in the province, to all MPPs, and to the Directors